The end of another day on the road…..

 Hi Everyone,

Today I had the road to myself for most of the trip to Grafton.   It was really weird….There were vehicles heading north, but for about 35km I was the only person in my lane.  I had a bus in front of me near Ulmarra, and a car in my lane coming towards me on the wrong side of the road (apparently going across double white lines around a corner is ok in his mind – Overtaking FAIL!!!)…..but other than that, I didn’t see any cars until about 5km out of town.

We had some fog today in the usual spots around Tyndale and near Cowper, but the combination of thermal clothing and the screen & fairing of the V-Strom kept me warm.

Music for today’s ride was courtesy of the rock world’s iconic bands;  Canada’s own – RUSH.  I’ve been listening to their music for years and it’s amazing that there are people that have never heard of them, especially considering they are ranked third for the most consecutive Gold or Platinum studio albums after the Beatles and the Rolling Stones.  A new movie documentary about their career that has spanned 4 decades is out soon – entitled “Rush: Beyond the Lighted Stage”…. Go check it out.

As many who have read my blog before would know, I like a particular brand of Italian motorcycle – and any chance to get up close to a Ducati is a great opportunity.  I’ve never had the pleasure of riding one, but have been up close to them at the annual Motorcycle show on the Gold Coast, and also had a client at work who owned two of them – A Hypermotard1100 and a Tricolore 1098S.

Over the weekend I came across this video of Ducati’s finest racers from MotoGP and World Superbikes letting loose on Ducati Streetfighters at the annual World Ducati Week – held last week at Misano…..

They had a drag race down the main Misano straight, but during practice (as you’ll see in the video) some of them had trouble getting the bikes off the line (due to the lack of electronics and launch control that they are used to on their race bikes)…..so burnouts and wheelies were the most logical option.

For the trip home tonight it was a bit cooler than this morning, but it was great to get out on the road and be back home with my family.

This weeks cool two-wheeled item comes courtesy of one of my favourite bike builders.   He’s a custom bike builder from Long Beach California, who doesn’t need a TV show where he fights with his family (while trying to build bikes)….he simply works with motorcycle manufacturers to design concept bikes and promote benchmark product in the motorcycle industry.  He has created designs that combine sportbike and chopper influences to create unique custom bikes….

He is the one and only Roland Sands and these are his creations…..

 

came across this pic and had to add it in……

Have a great day….

Cheers

Anthony.

~ by anthony on June 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
