Holiday is over, the bike is back on the road again!

Hi Everyone,

I was back on the road to Grafton this morning after a fantastic holiday.   Sadly it was over all too soon, but the chance to spend time with my family was so great.

So at 7:30 I got all the gear on and off I went….Initially I was going to take the scenic route (as I have over the last few weeks), but decided to head out onto the highway which was a good idea because of the fog.    Riding the twisties through the countryside isn’t fun when you can’t see the corners until you are on top of them.   I expect that the fog would have been even heavier out the back than where I was – so for today, the straight road was the safest option.

The added bonus of today’s highway trip was that due to the school holidays, there is no traffic on the approach to the bridge, so the time from the highway exit to the office was about 2 minutes.

While heading up Bent St to the bridge, I passed another V-Strom and got a huge wave from its rider.  This one was white;  probably a 2009 model.  I love my red one, but the white panels and silver rims looked pretty good too!

Hopefully the ride home will be good tonight, even though it may be a little cold again.   But I’ve got enough layers on to tackle whatever monday afternoon throws at me.

Here’s a shot that I found on the Two Wheeled Texans forum…Serious V-Strom lean action!

So what other two-wheeled news do I have??? 

Well the two worst kept secrets in motorcycle racing were officially revealed during the week.  Casey Stoner has signed a deal that sees him return to the factory Honda HRC team next year….

And who will be replacing him at Ducati???  Well there is only one answer to that question, and that is the one and only Valentino Rossi, who has signed a two year deal with the Bologna team.   A sum of 15 Million Euros has been aparently offered to the Italian (almost double the offer for him to stay at Yamaha)

Here he is prior to doing some testing on James Toseland’s SBK spec R1

Apparently only minutes after this shot was taken, he was pulling wheelies and had his knee on the ground!!!   Rossi was set to return at the Brno round  on the 15th of August, but could possibly be back next weekend at Sachsenring, Germany.  Apparently he was suffering some pain in his ankle, knee and shoulder, which is understandable after you’ve binned a motorcycle at 190km/h, but to be back on the world superbike spec Yamaha only 33 days later and put down laps that are just under 2 seconds from the recent SBK race times is pretty impressive!

And speaking of World Superbike racing, Max Biaggi now has a 68 point lead in the championship after another impressive performace at Brno over the weekend.   He finished second behind Rea in race one, and after some suspension and gearbox changes finished on top in race two.

So that’s it from me today, I hope that your week on the road is a good one.  I would love to be on holiday’s still, but I’m looking forward to being out and about on the V-Strom.

Enjoy the ride,

Cheers,

Anthony.

~ by anthony on July 12, 2010.

2 Responses to “Holiday is over, the bike is back on the road again!”

  1. Great post Anthony! I had a wee bit of fog to contend with at the weekend too – I find that Nikwax Visor Proof is great for beading fog and rain droplets. Pledge furniture polish isn’t a bad substitute either!

    Fabulous post of the VStrom rider with knee-down. Expect to see a similar shot of you on a Sydney roundabout in the coming weeks!

  2. Thanks Geoff, I love the knee-down shot too. It’s good to see that it is possible!

Leave a Reply

 
