Busy week and new gear!!

Hi all,

It’s been a while since my last blog post, but there’s been a lot happening lately.  Late last week, Vicki and I and the kids moved house……it wasn’t something we were planning to do at this time of year with work increasing, particularly for Vicki with wedding season taking off once more, but it was better to get it done before things got too crazy….

…..for anyone who has moved a few times in their life, they will know that there are often painful and stressful situations that you go through in life, and then on top of all those, is moving house!!

Vicki also celebrated her birthday last week too which was great……love you babe.

So after weeks of headaches, packing and cleaning, we are now in the new house, and close to having most of the stuff we need unpacked, and for the rest of the stuff its either not needed yet or we just don’t have a place for it.

Saturday night we had a home cooked meal that tasted so great, we had been living on pizza and chinese food for a week, and then the BBQ on Sunday for lunch was awesome – including sitting outside in our entertaining area (with a cold beer).

Sunday afternoon I went out for a ride and here are some shots that I took along the way….

I stopped at Lions Park at the lookout in Maclean (where I work during the week) and took this shot of the bike and the view.

Here’s the bike from another angle….

And here’s another shot of the view from the lookout.

It was a good ride and fun to blast along some of my favourite roads…..I even too the bike on gravel for the first time. It still wasn’t fun, but was easier than riding the scooter across gravel.

While reading the the last few issues of Rapid Bikes Magazine, I’ve noticed that Shawn Giles from Team Joe Rocket Suzuki rides a V-strom.   He has the DL1000 model and in at least two issues he has mentioned his rides with mates out on the Strom.

I purchased a new piece of gear for the bike this week…..a GPS.  I had previously looked at the Tom Tom Rider, Garmin Zumo 550 and more recently the Strike Motorcycle GPS and wondered why they are so expensive…..sure they are waterproof, easier to use while wearing gloves etc….but I still haven’t been able to justify the huge cost compared to a GPS for a car…..until now.  Many people will be familiar with the Aldi supermarket chain, and last week’s catalogue contained motorcycle gear – jackets, pants, boots, helmets and also they had the “Go Cruise” Motorcycle GPS – complete with handlebar mount (which can be connected to the battery for powering the device), USB charging cable….and Bluetooth headset (with charger) to hear the spoken commands.

So how does it perform?    Well for the trip home from work on Monday I had the headset fitted to my helmet, and because I didn’t have a chance to fit the mount to the handlebars, put the GPS in my pocket, put in the route to home….and off we went.  The quality of the sound was really good,  and the chosen route was pretty close to what I would normally ride…..and typical of me when using a GPS, I deliberately take the wrong turns sometimes to confuse the device, but it recalculated quickly and off we went.   In addition to the usual GPS functions, the Go Cruise also contains a media player for music and movies, as well as a photo viewer and eBook reader.

I’ll have more reports on how it goes over the next few weeks, and will also post photos once I’ve got it all wired up.

So that’s it from me, I hope you all have a great week and get out there on the road.

Cheers

Anthony

~ by anthony on August 9, 2010.

4 Responses to “Busy week and new gear!!”

  1. Great post Anthony!

    I love the comment “close to having the stuff we need unpacked”! We moved full-time into our beach place just over 2 years ago and we still have boxes in the shed from our old place that have stayed unpacked! We’re letting our kids plunder them when they visit to hopefully reduce stuff we clearly don’t need!

    Just as an aside, now that the weather is starting to warm up slightly, I’ve been wanting to go back to my summer gloves for more feel but it’s still a bit to chilly on a longer run. Hey presto, I’ve just bought some Icebreaker pure merino thin glove liners (under NZ$20)and they’re perfect with my summer gloves. Highly recommended.

    Cheers,

    Geoff

  2. Thanks Geoff,

    I’m so sick of the sight of cardboard!!!

    I went back to summer gloves recently when the winter ones were so wet from the rain that they took 3 days to dry.

    Cheers

    Anthony

  3. Hey Anthony, So the cheaper GPS does the job ok? Makes you wonder how the other manufacturers can claim such a large margin for their models, that are probably made in the same factory anyway.

    Knobies will help with any gravel riding, standard tyres and even my dual sport tyres are sketchy on gravel.

  4. Hey Jase, yes the Go Cruise is working great. I agree with you though, I can’t figure out the others can charge $800-ish for something that does the same job – And for $199, it came with a bluetooth headset too. Sure its not doing what the Scala Rider headsets can do, but it was still included for free, and does its intended job very well.

Leave a Reply

 
