Why do we ride?

Hi everyone,

There are days when people ask me “Why do you ride a motorcycle?”  and that question is often asked of me when its cold, wet, dark, windy, etc……Why would I want to ride to work in thermals + work clothes + bike gear + wet weather gear…..? Why would I want to get pelted by bugs, get hot and sweaty under layers of protective gear?

The good thing is that not every day is wet or cold, not every ride takes place in the dark…sometimes there is no wind, or bugs…It’s not always stinking hot, its not always less than perfect….

Some days are just like today.  Perfect temperature, perfect weather and after getting up early to get some stuff done  before the sun was up, I got to see this perfect day begin.

And when it was time to go, the conditions were fantastic.  So after saying goodbye to my wonderful family, I suited up and climbed on the bike and off I went.

Today was perfect for a back-road ride…..The riding was effortless and before I knew it I was at the ferry at Lawrence.

So why do I do it?  Because I love it!

As I mentioned last week, I’ve now got the new GPS on the bike, its still not wired up yet (will get around to that this weekend) but the cradle is all set up and everything is working good.  I need to get a relay installed but that will be done soon.  It still amazes me that this device has all the features of others costing 3-4 times as much!

And here’s a shot of the bluetooth headset attached to the helmet.

So in the morning I’m hoping for perfect conditions once again….but if its not perfect, that’s ok because if it’s bad I’ll simply put on the appropriate layers, slide on the plastic pants, pull on the rain proof jacket……turn the key, swing a leg over the V-Strom, and off I go.

So I hope you all enjoy your ride tomorrow, get out there, stay safe and have fun.

Cheers,

Anthony.

~ by anthony on August 16, 2010.

2 Responses to “Why do we ride?”

  1. Magic, Anthony! No matter what the weather, there’s always enjoyment to be had and something to be learned in a ride (and no ride is ever boring, no matter how short). “Why we ride” is what separates us from the rest of the public.

    Excellent post and photos – thank you!

  2. You are most welcome Geoff! And you are right about rides not being boring – whatever the length…. and having said that, I can’t wait for the trip home from the office today!!

    cheers.

Leave a Reply

 
