Diavel, World Superbikes and Chad Reed…..must be Friday night on the Blog.

Hi Everyone,

I hope its been a good week for you all out on the road.  Its been wet a few times this week…..(actually I should say that there were a few moments when it didn’t rain!)   Although I’m not a great fan of riding in the rain, I prefer rain to a combination of wind and rain!   Wednesday morning the wind was some of the worst I’ve encountered for the trip to Maclean.   The V-Strom catches cross winds like a big sail.    The other thing that made that trip “interesting” was when I thought my visor was fogging up, but it was actually my sunglasses and the only way I could get them to clear was to open the visor…..and I opened it too far and soon I had rain inside my helmet to contend with…….Thankfully the rest of me stayed dry!

Just before I left to come home I checked the radar and it looked like there was rain in my path….so I put all the wets on once more, and it didn’t rain until I was about 3km from home, but once again I arrived dry!

An interesting Hell For Leather article that I read today discussed the new Ducati Diavel….Ducati’s new power cruiser that has been described as the bike that gives “Ducati access to people who can’t or won’t ride a sportsbike and giving cruiser riders a Ducati-badged alternative.” Most people who have been purchasing them are over 50, are former Ducati owners who have come back to Ducati after riding other cruisers, or Harley owners looking for something else……and also a lot are women, who are choosing the bike due to the lower seat height.

I kinda like it….its not as sexy as the 1198, or as versatile as the Multistrada 1200 but with 162Hp, 1198cc v-twin power and a 240mm rear tire, it would be fun to ride!   I think I’ll reserve any further opinion on it until I see it up close, (or if it was possible – take one for a ride!)

World Super Bike testing for the 2011 season has begun, and after the Phillip Island test with Yamaha, and Aprilia – topping the times was Eugene Laverty who set a time of 1 min 31.5 on the Yamaha with Max Biaggi coming in at 1 min 32.1 on the Aprilia.

Former factory BMW rider Ruben Xaus came out on top on the Ten Kate Honda at the Portimao test.  His replacement at BMW, Leon Haslam was second quickest.

Here’s an awesome shot of Xaus at the launch of the Ducati Hypermotard a few years ago.

Another two-wheeled racer that has remained out of the spotlight for a while is Australia’s Chad Reed.   A few weeks ago it was announced that the former AMA Supercross and Motorcross champion is going it alone – defying the trends of the G.F.C and will be starting his own team for the 2011 season and will be riding a Honda CRF 450R.  He has decided to break away from the corporate world of American factory teams and push on with the support of Australian companies.

So it’s now Friday night…..and the rain is falling outside once more.   I hope you all have a great weekend and I’m looking forward to getting back out on the V-Strom on Monday…..and there are at least three other V-Stroms in town that I see on a regular basis.

Ride safe and have fun.

Cheers,

Anthony.

~ by anthony on December 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
