Happy New Gear?

Hi everyone,

I don’t know if its just me or maybe this is a common thing……but every now and then I get the urge to buy new motorcycle gear. I generally don’t need it, I just want it………  My name is Anthony and I like gear!

I’m a sucker for bike gear catalogues and web site emails with specials and “NEW” stuff……

One thing I am in need of is some new summer gloves.   My last pair had served me well for a couple of years but after a few too many wet rides (followed by drying out a bit too much and cracking) the leather on the palm of the left glove fell apart, so for a while now I’ve been wearing my winter/wet weather gloves and in this heat they are way too hot.

So I’m on the hunt for a reasonably priced, comfortable and good looking pair of gloves…..

So what else is on the wish list?

I don’t need a new helmet, but I love the look of the Icon Variant lids……..

I’m generally not a fan of Hi-Viz bike gear, but these are the new Variant Salvo helmets that have just been released.  I think the black/white one would suit the V-Strom nicely!

Next……perhaps a new jacket.  I came across this Berik “Veyron” jacket recently.  Retailing for $550 it’s a bit pricey but looks fantastic, and this particular colour would suit my Draggin camo pants perfectly.  It has all the usual safety features too.

Then if I was to go completely nuts…..there’s the Rev’it Defender series of motorcycling clothing – especially designed for adventure touring, and the ultimate in Goretex all-weather protection……Seems a bit excessive for commuting, but I would be dry, and warm, and cool……. and because the pants and jacket together costs $1700……I’d also be broke!!

……sorry, not today!

And for the bike?  The list of possible farkles contains a few items:

Firstly is a Cortech Super Mini Tank Bag.   I don’t like having stuff in my pockets when riding so being able to put phone, ipod, wallet, keys, camera etc into something else that’s within easy reach is a better idea.   As mentioned in an earlier post, I’ve been using a DIY solution for this, but would like to “upgrade” to the real thing.  This particular bag fits the odd shape of the V-Strom tank perfectly.

I have also been considering a Powerlet system to provide additional power for charging stuff.  This can either be installed on the tank bag, or alternatively connected to the Givi top box on the back of the bike.  That may be a better option as it will allow me to connect larger items as well, and having the external connector allows it to be disconnected should the luggage be removed.

So that’s it for today, I hope everyone has a good week and enjoys their time out on the road,

see you out there,

cheers,

Anthony

~ by anthony on January 4, 2011.

4 Responses to “Happy New Gear?”

  1. ‘ello Anthony!

    I like catalogues too, but getting permission to take it to the next stage is the tricky bit :-). I’m not sure whether those Icon lids are available in NZ, certainly never seen them before. Got to admit that they look the dog’s doo-dahs though. A peak or one of those tinted visors that slide down over the top of normal visors would be great for low sun angles.

    New boots are on the wish list for this year. My 8 year old SIDI waterproof boots aren’t any more!

    Enjoy your week!

  2. HI Geoff,

    Have fun with the new boot shopping, and hope you have a great week too.

    Cheers,

  3. Hard to find the icon gear here , I like their new helmet s lot so will keep an eye out for it.

  4. Yes, the Variant helmets are awesome. I wish the full range of Icon gear was available here as I’d like to try some of it. If they

Leave a Reply

 
