No stupid animal, don’t go that way!

Sheep – described by Wikipedia as “quadrupedal, ruminant mammals typically kept as livestock……. …….domesticated for agricultural purposes, raised for fleece, meat and milk.”

….And today, one member of their species helped to reassert their position as one of the dumbest animals on God’s green Earth.

I had to go to the supermarket, and as it was such a nice day I decided to take a 20km detour out through Palmers Island and back to town. As I was heading down the long straight of Middle Road, (and travelling slower than normal as there were cane hauling trucks around)….there was the animal on the side of the road, opposite a house, eating grass.

When I was not very far away from it, good old “Shaun” decided to run back across the road, right towards me, right in front of me…… Not knowing what it was going to do I quickly began to slow down so I didn’t hit it, but didn’t want to skid, as the road was dusty and covered in a layer of dirt from the cane trucks.

Most animals would try and get away from the big noisy motorcycle, but this one decided that he was going to keep going, and I think I eventually missed it by about a foot or so…

After stopping to calm my nerves I then continued, but the ride just wasn’t quite the same.

Hope your weekend is a good one,

Cheers

Anthony

~ by anthony on July 30, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
