Two wheeler is back…

First I’d like to apologise for the lack of posts in recent months…..my poor little corner of cyberspace has been unfortunately neglected for too long….but I promise to rectify that!

Since my last post I’ve added a new piece of gear to the bike, and that is a Gopro HD camera…..so stay tuned for more on-bike footage soon!

There will be more ride reports, ride videos, cool gear and cool bikes……pretty much all the same stuff from before, without a 2 or 3 month gap between posts!

Todays post should be entitled “Auto Electrician For A Day”….which is what I was on Saturday.

I have had a strange problem with the bike’s accessories recently. As I’ve reported before I have my iPhone charging on the bike, as well as my GPS, and these devices run off a Blue Sea Fuse block that is connected to switched power. But for some reason, when the left indicator is turned on, the power to these devices goes on and off in time with the blinking of the light……which is fine for the GPS as it doesn’t make any noises, but the iPhone makes a beep each time the power is connected, so as the blinker goes….an annoying beep comes through my headphones until the indicator is turned off.

The strange thing is that there is nothing wrong with the way its all wired up…..(contrary to what I’ve been told by people on a US V-Strom forum…) but I decided to try it a different way and hook up a relay, and still have it tapped into the same switched power lead (which is one recommended by the v-strom guys…) so I got some wire, connectors, a relay…..followed the simple circuit diagrams…..made up a wiring loom and headed out to the bike…..stripped it down and connected everything up……

Then I turned the key, the dashboard went dead, and I heard a click from the fuse box area……and i knew I’d blown the indicator fuse……(this has happened before while riding home from work, so I knew what it was)

So I replaced the fuse, unhooked everything, checked the connections and made sure I’d followed the instructions correctly…..plugged it all back in, turned it on……and blew the fuse…..again!

Mmmm so with frustration starting to set in, I removed the tail section of the bike to get to the connector for the number plate light…..the grey wire there is another recommended source for switched power as it’s not really detrimental to the bike if that stops working….So I tapped into that wire, checked all connections again…..replaced the fuse (by this time I’d been back to Repco and got a packet of 5 fuses!)…..shut my eyes, turned the key……….and you guessed it….!! …W.T.H is going on here……..

I got back onto the V-Strom forum and sent out a message to the gurus there…..they told me to reconfigure the wiring a bit…..having said that, they couldn’t figure out why it was blowing fuses the way it was wired up……it wasn’t the “correct” way, but it should have worked…..and they kept insisting that I’d done something wrong, I’ll gladly admit I might have gotten it wrong but I pulled it apart three or four times and checked and re-checked everything……and then after checking the connections against the circuit diagrams again, and again…..i was sure there was nothing wrong with it……

In the end, I think I managed to blow 5 fuses during the day…..I’ve got one in the bike for the indicators now, and a spare……..and I have pulled out all the accessory wiring for the moment and will try again……soon!

I read an article recently about a guy who was fitting HID lights to his bike, and recommended doing it while drinking beers….maybe that’s what I should have tried…..

And after ripping it all out there was only one thing left to do…..grab my helmet and go for a ride….and after that I was smiling again!

So the moral of the story is…….well I’m not sure what the moral is…….but I do know that I’m a much better accountant than an auto electrician…and I’m totally fine with that.

Have a great week,

Anthony

~ by anthony on September 26, 2011.

5 Responses to “Two wheeler is back…”

  1. Howdy Anthony and welcome back to cyberspace!

    Now don’t take this the wrong way, but I laughed all the way through your most excellent post, mainly because I’ve found myself in similar situations, principally on my old BMW K100RS!

    Electrickery is a dark art mate, so don’t feel bad about it. And to be an electrical engineer, you have to be completely insane.

    Great to see you back!

    • Hi Geoff, your comment was received just as you intended….I must admit that I eventually laughed about it. After blowing the fuse 3 times I probably should have stopped…..by then I had reached the point that if it didn’t blow I had forgotten to connect something…….think I’ll stick to accounting!

  2. Hey Anthony,

    You might have to learn the art of multi-meters and checking circuits before applying power, makes it a lot cheaper than blowing fuses. But congrats on getting it all sorted in the end. Well done!

    P.S. I’m about to do a Stebel again….

  3. This is a really great blog. Thx to the auther

Leave a Reply

 
