Another week, more riding!

Over the weekend I headed up to the Gold Coast once again to see the boys and also catch up with a friend of mine.     It had been a couple of weeks since I’d seen the kids, so I was really looking forward to hanging out with them once again.

The week leading up to this had felt like a long one……I love my job, but there are times when sitting in an office watching a clock tick over in 6 minutes intervals can wear you down.    Especially when its a gorgeous day outside and I see and hear bikes riding past!

But I soldiered on, because the end of the week meant that I would be on the road, heading north.

Each time I catch up with the kids, they have lots of stories…….and just like Homer Simpson, “I like stories!”    And sitting down with them at the playground and hearing them talk about the things they have been doing is great.  I talk to them on the phone each week, but seeing their faces light up when they talk about the things that they enjoy is just so special.

And the other highlight of the weekend was catching up with a friend of mine from the Gold Coast.   There are times when people come into your life and they bring with them such an amazing, positive attitude, combined with a strength and character that is truly inspiring.

It was such a great weekend and I’m blessed to have such wonderful people in my life.

And so today for the ride to the office I had a go at running the Gopro in photo mode – on 1 second intervals, and mounted on the handlebars – to see what I might be able to come up with……the battery ran out a few minutes before I got to the office, but I did manage to get 1043 photos to choose from!   I took a bit of a detour around town via the beach, and so here’s a couple of them to give you a view of my commute to Maclean.

Getting ready to go…

Cruising the streets of Yamba….

Pippi Beach……we had a storm last night and the day started grey and a bit ugly.

 

Heading across Shallow Channel

Empty cane paddock at Palmers Island

The BP at Maclean.

So that’s just a sample of what I shot this morning, I’m looking forward to doing the same thing again with the helmet mount.

So I hope you all have a great week.  Get out there on the roads, ride safe and have some fun.

Cheers

Anthony

~ by anthony on October 26, 2011.

4 Responses to “Another week, more riding!”

  1. Anthony:
    Know exactly what you mean about the kids and cherished friends – isn’t it just wonderful to be blessed like that? Suddenly, work seems so much more bearable when you have weekends like that to look forward to!

    Love your bike shots – not unlike the area we live in, minus the cane!

    Not long to the next weekend mate!

    • Hi Geoff,

      I often wish that weekends were longer, but I think they are short for a reason – and spending them with the special people in our lives make them even greater.

      And speaking of weekends, its not long!!! 🙂

  2. I see i’m not the only clock-watcher 😆

    Kids are endlessly amusing. Their zest for life, their excitement about things… its so contagious. I feel like my daughter keeps my spirit young because her happiness and positivity rubs off on me.

    I’m glad you had a great weekend with family and friends. Round that all out with a ride on the bike… perfecto.

    • Hi Fuzzy,

      Kids are fantastic, and you are right about them keeping our spirit young.

      And when I get to spend precious time with them and other special people in my life, that makes me smile! (…and so does riding my bike!!)

      have a great week.

Leave a Reply

 
