I miss my bike…..

Hi everyone,

It’s been a few weeks since my last post, and quite a bit has happened….

The big things are that I moved to the Gold Coast and started a new job. I’m into my second week at the new job and I’m living at the northern end of the coast and life is going great. I’m only 10 minutes away from my boys, and am really happy with the way things are going, I’ve got the love and support of my family and great friends.

I have a 35 minute commute each day which is great fun on the bike…….but last Thursday when it was time to go home, the Vstrom decided it wasn’t going to help me make the journey home.

I got a few hundred meters from work and it started losing power, and twisting the throttle was doing nothing, and then the engine cut out and I pulled off the road to stop. What followed was several minutes of attempts to restart the beast, combined with many expletives about the bike….(and its mother!!!)… 🙂

So next option was to call the RACQ, and they soon sent a guy out who didn’t fill me with confidence……I don’t want to hear things like “maybe it’s seized”…..or ” I dunno?”

Eventually I convinced him to try and jump start it, which worked, then he checked to see if the battery was charging, which it was, but he thought perhaps the battery was stuffed……

And so I headed off with the engine running……and then a few hundred meters more……it died…..again!

This time I decided to push it back to the office, an idea that in theory seemed to make sense……in reality, pushing a 200+ kg bike 1.3km is a nightmare!

Eventually I made it back, and thankfully my boss was there to help me get it inside…..after pushing it that far I could barely get it up the 1.5 inch high step into the back door…..

Fast forward to Friday and I got a new battery….$139 later…. Ouch! And then Saturday I began an epic journey involving buses and lots of wasted time and got to the office, put the battery in, got the bike to fire up, rode out of the car park, headed down the road…….and guess what!!!!

By this time I was getting mildly annoyed…..and so i called for assistance, and the guy they sent this time informed me…”I know nothing about bikes…. ” and after listening to him waffle on, that fact was blatantly clear……

So I opted to get it towed to a mechanic, and that’s where it currently is.

And so I’m in the process of informing the powers that be at the NRMA/RACQ roadside assistance dept politely that they suck! I pay $100 a year for their services when I may or may not need them, and after the weekend, with the battery and bus fares, I spent close to $200 to get home with no bike…..not to mention the inconvenience and lost time with my family that resulted….I left home at 5:30am Saturday, and wasn’t home till late in the afternoon. The mechanic’s costs aren’t factored in yet…..so you may be right in thinking I’m not happy!!!

But looking at this a different way……everything happens for a reason, and although I’m not sure what that reason is yet, I’m sure I’ll look back on this episode of “Shit that went bad” and feel like I’ve learned something.

Have a great week, enjoy the road and stay safe,

Cheers,

Anthony

~ by anthony on December 12, 2011.

3 Responses to “I miss my bike…..”

  1. Aaargh!!!!

    Absolutely delighted to hear that you’ve settled in to the GC lifestyle Anthony, but gutted to hear about the Suzuki – look forward to hearing more.

    Your comment “everything happens for a reason” was never more true. As soon as I read that, I immediately thought “Karma is pointing Anthony towards a Bonneville”. Look forward to hearing about that too **sly grin**.

    You have a great week mate!

    • Hi Geoff,

      I finally got a call from the mechanic on Monday and the problem was a fuel issue…..there was a lot of crap in the tank, and also some water…..but that’s sorted now, but the chain and sprockets are stuffed too……so I’m up for $705 total in repairs, but it needs to be done!

      So I should have it back in a few days. Regarding the Bonneville……that’s still going to happen….and I’ve got some ideas about how I’m going to make it happen!

      Enjoy the rest of your week.

  2. Yes RACQ/NRMA I found also worthless. First and last time I used them was at least 20 years ago, had a split radiator hose on a old car, asked guy to bring the hose, no cannot do that, asked for lift to servo to buy a new hose, no cannot do that, asked for a lend of a screwdriver and stanley knife as could trim the split and pull tight and refit, no cannot do that, all I can do is open doors for keys locked inside, jump start, bring fuel or tow you, nothing else. Cancelled my membership next day.

Leave a Reply

 
